I like the definition of bullying here: Stopbullying.gov

While I don’t enjoy the strict definition of this happening among school aged children, and I will not use it or let my work be defined by that. Bullying is something possible for any age group, any cohort of humans and within wider society.

I know because I see it within wider society. I know because I see people display the same toxic reactionary bullying that I know so intimately from being a person who was bullied and tried to be a bully back. To use the same tactics which I know so well are flawed and wrong. For behaviour to be considered bullying it must display these two characteristics.

  • An Imbalance of Power: [people] who bully use their power—such as physical strength, access to embarrassing information, or popularity—to control or harm others. Power imbalances can change over time and in different situations, even if they involve the same people.
  • Repetition: Bullying behaviors happen more than once or have the potential to happen more than once.

Bullying includes actions such as making threats, spreading rumors, attacking someone physically or verbally, and excluding someone from a group on purpose.

Now I have to explain some things about hierarchies of credibility.

When someone is behaving like a bully. WHICH ABSOLUTELY DONALD TRUMP HAS. They are operating within a personal hierarchy of credibility that has them on the top and their victim on the bottom. They attempt to get other people to support them in this and create that hierarchy in reality.

When you behave like a bully back to them you’re trying to reassert your own hierarchy of credibility. Inverting the hierarchy doesn’t cancel out the behaviour from before. It just adds to it.

And I am seeing people fucking behaving like bullies and getting in on a bandwagon of hate that I HAVE BEEN CRUCIFIED UPON. AND BROKEN.

Stuff like this: Trigger warning: bullying. When I see bullying? IT DOES NOT MATTER WHO THE FUCK YOU ARE BULLYING. I THEN KNOW YOU THINK ITS OK TO BULLY SOMEONE YOU DON’T LIKE. YOUR KIDS SEE THAT IT IS OK TO BULLY ANYONE THEY DON’T LIKE. And do you know how cruel and twisted it is to specifically be asked to stop something and then not only continue but try and increase your behaviour so that it is MORE hurtful to that person? BECAUSE IT WAS DONE TO ME. MANY MANY TIMES IN MANY MANY DIFFERENT WAYS. By little shits that were watching their parents bully anyone they didn’t like and who were probably bullying those kids.

And people wonder how kids can systemically attempt to break another human.

What y’all are saying about trump is what my life looked like from the age of five to the age of eleven when I DIED and my personality changed and I got taken out of school to save my life. And since the age of ELEVEN. I have considered suicide FIRST in response to overstimulation and feel that I have been tainted by suicidal ideation and I fucking deal with that and will deal with it for the rest of my life.

I get to be triggered when I see my friends bullying people they don’t like and know that I can never trust anyone. Because the second they don’t like me? They will do the same to me.

It drives home to me JUST how much our society. EVEN MY FRIENDS. Do not understand or care about bullying.

